Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) in Spain

Currently, Spain has 2055 MW of Concentrated Solar Thermal Power (CSP) in operation and another 300 MW under construction scheduled to come online before the end of 2013. Although most of these plants employ parabolic trough technology (2272.5 MW distributed in 46 plants), there are 3 plants (51 MW) employing power tower technology and 2 plants (31.4 MW) employing linear Fresnel technology.
September 2002, Spain was the first European country to introduce a