Hong Kong commitment to promote electric vehicles

 Fourteen member cities of C40 (Bogota, Buenos Aires, Chicago, Copenhagen, Delhi, Hong Kong, Houston, London, Los Angeles, Mexico City, Toronto, Sao Paulo, Seoul and Sydney) pledged their commitment as members of C40 Electric Vehicle Network, to harness the power of the C40 organisation for accelerating the deployment of electric vehicles.

They committed to action in four major areas critical to the successful introduction of electric vehicles – the setting up of public charging stations and charging points in the property of buyers of electric vehicles, the provision of government incentives as well as the introduction of EVs in government and corporate fleets.

"Our participation in the ‘C40 Electric Vehicle Network’ provides a platform for Hong Kong to join with overseas partners, both in the public and private sectors to promote this new formof green transport. The sharing of best practices among cities, coupled with complementary efforts from vehicle manufacturers and fleet operators, will help map out the best strategy to achieve wide adoption of EVs in our cities," Mr Yau said. The C40 Chair, Mayor Miller of Toronto, said, "The ‘C40 Electric Vehicle Network’ demonstrates the power of C40 as a convener and catalyst for change.

Fourteen cities sharing solutions can make more rapid progress than any one city working on its own." C40 is a group of the world’s largest cities, including Beijing, London, New York, and Tokyo, which have combined to tackle climate change by reducing greenhouse gases.One of the initiatives proposed by C40 to combat climate change is to accelerate the development and adoption of electric vehicles, which have no tailpipe emission.

Apart from the 14 cities, four private sector companies, i.e. BYD, Mitsubishi, Nissan and Renault, have committed to work with the "C40 Electric Network" toward the shared goal of fostering the market of electric vehicles.

Apart from being a C40 member city and joining "C40 Electric Vehicle Network", Hong Kong has also joined the C40 Electric Vehicle Steering Committee which was launched at the C40 Climate Summit held in Seoul in May 2009.The Steering Committee, comprising London, Los Angeles, Seoul, Toronto and Hong Kong, will lead the C40 Electric Vehicle Working Group to work on various issues related to electric vehicles.